Newbie...What Do You Think?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie...What Do You Think?

I'm relatively new to all of this, so I'm interested in getting some feedback based on what I think are a few of my best photos so far:

Canon XSi w/ Tamron 18-270mm (VC)
    1/30 second, /4
    ISO 400
    Focal Length = 39 mm
    Tungsten white balanced to get the blue tone to the image
    No flash used; the fountain is lit around the base with a few lights.

Nikkormat FTn
    Nikon Nikkor-S Auto 50mm f/1.4 lens
    Ilford Delta 3200 Professional, shot at 1600
    Shot at f/1.4

Casio Exilim EX S-600 point and shoot Stitched together manually before Photoshop had (or before I knew about, not sure which) the automated panorama feature.

Canon XSi w/ Tamron 70-200mm f/2.8

Another with the trusty Casio
    http://www.flickr.com/absorption_line
    http://www.tanyaharrisonofmars.com

Re: Newbie...What Do You Think?

Images 1, 3, and 5 are great (hehe the odd numbers). I especially like the use of skewed angle in 1, and the leading lines into mist in 5 (3 is just plain classic). As for #2, it is interesting, but I feel like it fails to break through with a strong message or "punch." #4 is, well, it's kind of cool, but it's been done a lot (at least to my mind).

Comment

as was said, #1 and #5 are both interesting. #3 is beautiful...
      Check out my Photobucket Albums Showcasing United States Fire Apparatus:
      http://photobucket.com/albums/v660/RescueKUjo/

Comment

Without sitting down and staring at these for a while, I'd say the only thing that stands out is that you're missing a quarter of the story in #2. The street performer is cut off and the kids are smack in the middle in a snapshot way. The rest of the shots are pretty darn good. The pano is superb.
        Throw a little light. If it doesn't come back, it probably fell off...
        Cheers
        John
        Flickr
        Nikon D80 (nicknamed Cylopsoid)